Cooking Basics: Roasting a Whole Chicken

TGIF every lovely body!!  Although notably chillier than the past couple days, the sun is shining and it is a beautiful day in the northeast.  I’m sure you’re all as excited for the weekend as I am! Josh and I have some wonderful plans this weekend, and will be seeing friends we haven’t seen in a while.  Today, I’m a busy bee getting a lot of “to-do’s” done before I enter the full time work force next week!

For today’s post, I’d like to share with you my fool-proof recipe for roasting a whole chicken.  When I first began cooking, the whole chickens in the grocery store really intimidated me.  I wasn’t sure if I would have to gut them myself, and how involved the process would be, so I stuck to chicken breasts or drumsticks alone.  I finally got over my fear and found that roasting a whole chicken is an easy, classic, and delicious recipe that is the perfect go-to for any weeknight meal and is also perfect for a dinner party where you need to feed (and impress) many guests.

Isn’t she lovely?

You Will Need:

  • 1 whole Chicken – they are usually between 3-5 lbs
  • 5 tablespoons EVOO, divided
  • 1 tablespoon Lemon Juice
  • 1 Onion, quartered
  • 1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp. Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. dried Basil
  • 1/2 tsp. dried Oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed Red Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. Black Pepper
  • Fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1 disposable Roasting Pan (optional)
  • Kitchen twine

Directions:

  1. Remove the paper sack of giblets from the inside cavity of the chicken and throw out.  Rinse your chicken inside and out under cold water, pat dry with paper towel.
  2. Rub inside of chicken with 2 tbsp. of EVOO, place quartered onion and then the fresh thyme inside the cavity of the chicken.  Next, truss the chicken using kitchen twine.  (See video below for instructions – essentially you are tucking the wings underneath the chicken and tying the legs together) 
  3. Combine remaining 3 tbsp. of EVOO with the spices and mix.  Brush the entire outside of the chicken with the oil/spice rub. 
  4. Set your oven on the “Roast” setting if you have one, or just Bake is fine at 375˚ F.  Chicken will usually take about 2 hours, depending on size.  Most chickens come with a small white thermometer already in the breast, which will “pop” up when the chicken is finished.  (Totally fool proof!)  If not, you know your bird is done when the internal temperature reaches 180˚ F.
  5. When finished, let the chicken sit for 10 minutes before cutting.  You can half, quarter, or separate the chicken into breasts, wings, drumsticks and thighs.  Serve and enjoy!

Have a fabulous Friday everyone! xo

One thought on “Cooking Basics: Roasting a Whole Chicken

  1. Love this! Hope you’re having a fantastic first day at your new job! Also, I’m pretty sure that you and I are on the same wavelength – I made roast chicken 2 weekends ago (with the intent to post while on vacation last week). Yours looks delish and when I (finally) post mine tomorrow, I’m definitely going to link to it! 🙂

Post a Comment

